waterlogged

I
We talked once in the back room of a party I wasn’t invited to
moving through dimly lit bottles of beer
I had wanted to talk to her because she had been the only girl he loved
and I had wanted to love her too

II
She told me she always had to have flowers in her room
so for her birthday I drove an hour to her parents house with a bunch of daisies on the back seat and hid in the dark when she came too close
III
But now, our voices are waterlogged
sinking into the dirt and mud.
I’m not sure I want this anymore

Leave a Reply

